Gun Carry Laws
Minnesota’s gun laws clearly outline the rules for carrying a firearm. Minnesota is a “shall issue” state, meaning specific requirements must be met before issuing a gun permit to a resident or non-resident. Additionally, Minnesota accepts firearm permits issued to citizens of 15 additional states, including Alaska, Delaware, Illinois, and Michigan.
If you have been accused of committing a firearm or weapon charge, contact James Blumberg Law.
Minnesota Gun Carry Laws Attorney
If you have violated Minnesota’s gun carry laws, you can face serious repercussions such as steep fines and jail time. To have a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney advocating on your behalf, contact James Blumberg Law. Attorney James Blumberg at James Blumberg Law can form a strong defense to contest the charge or to minimize potential penalties.
Call (952) 431-7758 to arrange a free consultation with James Blumberg Law today. James Blumberg Law serve Minnesota residents and visitors in counties such as Rice County, Steele County, Scott County, Sibley County, Dodge County, Olmsted County, and Carver County.
- Gun Possession Permit
- Permit to Carry
- Who Can’t Own A Gun In Minnesota?
- Appealing A Denial
- Carrying A Rifle In Public
- Firearm Training
- Carrying A Gun Without A Permit
- Disclosing Possession
- Additional Resources
Gun Possession Permit
All people, whether they are state citizens or not, must meet certain requirements before receiving a gun permit in Minnesota. Here are the requirements for applicants:
- Must have a valid Minnesota driver’s license, Minnesota ID card, or passport, along with proof of residency.
- Must be older than 18 to purchase a handgun under state.
- Must not be a fugitive.
According to Minnesota law, buyers of handguns and military assault-style rifles must show either a handgun transferee permit or carry permit or wait seven days.
Permit to Carry
The ability to carry a handgun in public in Minnesota requires a permit. The law does not specify whether or not that weapon must be concealed. A permit to carry also serves as a permit to buy. It can take up to 30 days for the sheriff’s office to process the application. If approved, the permit is good for five years from its date. Requirements for a permit to carry are:
- Must be 21 years of age or older
- Must complete an application and provide proper identification
- Must provide a certificate of authorized firearm training
- Must not be prohibited from owning a firearm under state law
- Must not be named in the criminal gang investigation system
- Must apply in the county of residence
A permit is not necessary to transport a firearm or store one inside a private home or place of business. Minnesota supports people’s rights to safety from physical harm or death in their private residences because it is a Castle Doctrine state. A person is not required to flee before using lethal force in self-defense inside their home.
Who Can’t Own A Gun In Minnesota?
Typically, those who can’t possess a gun include:
- Convicted felons
- Drug addicts
- Mentally disabled
In Minnesota, a person currently facing a charge of a crime that carries a sentence of more than a year in jail is not eligible to possess a gun. Someone convicted of stalking and using a firearm to commit the crime can be prohibited from possessing a gun for at least three years. Anyone who violated an order of protection and used a firearm during the violation is prohibited from possessing a gun under state law.
Appealing A Denial
If someone is denied a gun permit in Minnesota, they have the right to appeal the determination. They’ll need to petition the District Court for a Writ of Mandamus requiring the sheriff to issue a permit.
Carrying A Rifle In Public
Rifles, shotguns, and BB guns are illegal to carry in public unless one of the following conditions is met:
- The owner has a carry permit
- The firearm is unloaded and completely enclosed in a case
- The firearm is on public land or water to legally hunt; or
- The rifle owner is carrying the firearm to or from a gun shop.
Applicants for a permit to carry must provide proof that they received instruction in safely handling a handgun within a year of submitting their initial application or renewing their permit. This training course can be completed online or in person.
Carrying A Gun Without A Permit
Carrying a handgun or having it in a car, a snowmobile, or a boat, without a state permit can lead to a gross misdemeanor charge in Minnesota. For someone who has already been found guilty of carrying a gun without a permit in the past, the crime becomes a felony. A felony charge is punishable by years in prison and thousands of dollars in fines.
Bringing a gun into a prison or another place where guns are prohibited is also against the law. Places people can’t bring a gun include:
- A prison or a government building
- A facility for people with disabilities and mental illness, a hospital run by the government, or a center for sexual offenders
- A privately owned establishment where a sign prohibiting firearms has been placed
- Schools and childcare facilities with children on the premises
A person is not required by law to disclose that they are carrying a concealed weapon to a police officer if they are pulled over for a traffic infraction or another type of violation. However, a defense by a Minnesota criminal law attorney is required if you are detained for a firearm-related crime. In Minnesota, crimes involving firearms are punishable by harsh fines and prison terms. A weapons charge will frequently make any other charges more serious.
Bureau of Criminal Apprehension – Visit the official website for the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension which provides detailed information on permits to carry. It also includes the application for the permit and frequently asked questions about Minnesota’s Personal Protection Act.
House Research Department – Visit the official website for the House Research Department which published a comprehensive guide for legislators on Minnesota’s firearm laws. The date is 1999, but the laws are current and detailed.
Minnesota Legislative Reference Library – Visit the official website for the Minnesota Legislative which contains a firearm carry law resource guide with all current statutes and senate files.
Apple Valley Gun Carry Laws Attorney | Dakota County, MN
If you or a loved one has been charged with a weapon or firearm charge, contact James Blumberg Law. Defense attorney James Blumberg at James Blumberg Law can provide you with excellent legal representation and improve your chances of succeeding in court.
To schedule a free consultation, call (952) 431-7758 today. James Blumberg Law accepts clients throughout the state of Minnesota including Burnsville, Apple Valley, Eagan, Lakeville, Rosemount, Farmington, Inver Grove Heights and West St. Paul.