Furnishing Firearms to Minors
Minnesota has stringent gun laws. Some of these laws range from who can legally possess a firearm to who can legally purchase a gun. Under certain circumstances, a minor can purchase or possess a gun. But providing a firearm to a minor without their parent’s consent is a crime.
It doesn’t matter if you gave the weapon to the child for free or they paid for it, you will face significant time behind bars for the offense. You should contact legal representation if you have been charged with furnishing to a minor. A criminal defense attorney can explain what you may be up against and represent you in court.
Criminal Defense Attorney in Apple Valley
Due to the political climate, Minnesota has taken a tough stance against gun crimes. You will need an attorney who is not afraid to put up a fight. James Blumberg is a relentless criminal defense attorney with a proven track record in the Minnesota Courts. He will use his experience as a state prosecutor to your advantage and build a defense plan to achieve a favorable outcome.
Take advantage of our free consultation. Call (952) 431-7758 to schedule a time to speak with us. James Blumberg Law is based in Apple Valley, but also serves areas such as St. Paul, Savage and Woodbury.
- Minnesota Gun Laws for Minors
- How is Furnishing to Minors Charged in MN?
- Related Offenses
- Additional Resources
Minnesota Gun Laws for Minors
Guns are appealing to young children, mainly boys. They see powerful figures with such weapons and strive to be like them. Most minors are not aware of the laws governing firearms, so they may try to purchase one on their own accord. Licensed firearm dealers and other adults should know that providing a gun to a minor is a criminal offense in Minnesota.
According to the Minnesota Statutes, it’s against the law to furnish a child younger than 14 with a gun or ammunition outside of a municipality without the consent from their parents or legal guardian. It’s also illegal to provide a firearm or ammunition to a minor younger than 18 within a municipality without the consent of the minor’s parents or legal guardian.
How is Furnishing to Minors Charged in MN?
The safety of young children is a top priority for the North Star State. While you may have had every good intention, giving a gun or firearm to a minor is still highly illegal. You could end up being labeled a felon, depending on the age of the minor and where the transaction took place.
Listed below are the charges and penalties for furnishing firearms to a minor:
- Outside a municipality: Furnishing a gun, ammunition, air gun or explosive to a minor younger than 14 outside of a municipality without the necessary consent is a misdemeanor punishable by the following:
- Up to 90 days in jail; or
- A fine of up to $1,000; or
- Both incarceration and a fine
- Within a municipality: Furnishing a gun, ammunition, air gun or explosive to a minor younger than 18 within a municipality without the necessary consent is a felony punishable by the following:
- Up to 10 years in prison; or
- A fine of up to $20,000; or
- Both incarceration and a fine
The North Star State has stringent gun laws for minors and adults. Along with furnishing firearms to a minor, you could also face charges for the negligent storage of guns and displaying handguns and ammunition in a manner accessible by minors. Listed below is a brief explanation of gun crimes related to furnishing to a minor:
- Negligent Storage: Negligently storing or leaving a loaded gun where a child is likely to have access to it is generally a crime of child endangerment. The offense is a misdemeanor punishable by up to a year in prison, a fine of up to $3,000 or both a fine and time behind bars.
- Displaying of Handgun Ammunition: Ammunition retailers cannot display bullets in a way that is directly accessible to minors. This can include on shelves and on top of counters. Ammunition enclosed in a display case or behind a counter is acceptable. The offense is a petty misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $300.
- Illegal Possession: This offense applies to minors. It’s illegal for anyone younger than 18 to possess a firearm. The only exception is if the child has a firearm safety certificate or is under supervision of an adult. Illegal possession of a weapon is a felony that is punishable by up to five years behind bars, a fine of up to $10,000 or both a fine and incarceration.
Dangerous Weapons | Minnesota Statutes – Read the section of the Minnesota Statutes governing firearms in the state. You can read the precise legal definition of furnishing to a minor and learn about other firearm crimes. The statute can be read on the Minnesota Legislature website.
Minnesota Firearm Laws for Minors | Minnesota House Research – Follow the link provided to read a PDF provided by the Minnesota House of Representative over gun laws for minors. You can gain a further understanding of the laws mentioned on this page and learn more about hunting requirements for minors and penalties for juvenile firearm crimes.
Criminal Defense Lawyer in Apple Valley
Whether you were charged with furnishing to a minor, or negligent storage, James Blumberg Law is here to help. James Blumberg has been dedicated to defending Minnesotans for over a decade. He will file motions, suppress evidence and do whatever else possible to achieve a favorable outcome for you.
Take the first step in your defense and contact James Blumberg Law. Call (952) 431-7758 to schedule a free case evaluation. Some of the areas we serve include Dakota County, Ramsey County, Scott County and Washington County.