As a former prosecutor in the Dakota County Attorney’s Office, James Blumberg has experience on both sides of the criminal courtroom. He knows how to fight to get charges reduced or dismissed for clients in the Twin Cities area.Read More
In the state of Minnesota, assaults that cause substantial or demonstrable injury, and assaults committed against protected employees and children, are punishable as a felony offense.
Being convicted of a felony assault could result in a plethora of penalties, including, but not limited to, a lengthy prison sentence, costly fines, loss of voting rights and other rights, and a permanent felony conviction on the person's criminal record.
It is imperative to have an experienced Dakota County felony assault criminal defense attorney litigating on your behalf to help mitigate the potential penalties.
Lawyer for Felony Assault in Dakota County, MN
James Blumberg is a talented attorney that has represented the rights of individuals accused of criminal offenses throughout Dakota County, Minnesota.
With the office of James Blumberg Law conveniently located in Apple Valley, Minnesota, Attorney is able to provide efficient representation to clients in St. Paul, Mendota Heights, Farmington, Burnsville, and the remained of Dakota County, Minnesota.
Contact James Blumberg Law at (952) 431-7758 or submit an online contact form to schedule your free initial consultation and have your vase reviewed by our talented team.
Felony Assault Laws in Minnesota
Minnesota Statute 609.02 defines an "assault" as the intentional act of causing in another person of receiving immediate bodily harm or death, or, the intentional infliction of or attempt to inflict bodily harm upon another.
First-Degree Assault in Dakota County, Minnesota
First-degree assault is the most serious assault offense and imposes the most severe penalties. Under Minnesota 609.221, an individual may be charged with first-degree assault when they physically assault someone and it results in great bodily harm being inflicted upon the victim.
"Great bodily harm" is defined under Minnesota law as bodily injury which creates a high probability of death, or, causes serious permanent disfigurement, loss or impairment of a bodily organ or body part.
An individual could also be charged with first-degree assault they attempted to use deadly force against a law enforcement officer, attorney, judge, or employee engaged in the performance of a duty required by law.
First-degree assault is a felony offense punishable by up to 20 years in prison and fines totaling up to $30,000.
Second-Degree Assault Apple Valley, Minnesota
Minnesota 609.222 states an individual can be charged with second-degree assault when an assault is committed upon another person with a deadly weapon. A deadly weapon does not necessarily have to be a gun or a knife; the court will consider the item and the manner in which the item was used in the commission of the crime.
Second-degree assault is a felony offense punishable by up to seven years in imprisonment, a fine up to $14,000, or both.
However, when the assault caused substantial bodily harm to the alleged victim, the offender may be imprisoned for up to ten years and pay a fine up to $20,000. "Substantial bodily harm" is defined under Minnesota law as a bodily injury resulting in any of the following:
- Temporary disfigurement,
- Temporary loss or impairment of a body part, or
- The fracture of any body part
Third-Degree Assault in Eagan County, Minnesota
According to Minnesota 609.223, an individual may be charged with third-degree assault when he or she allegedly committed any of the following criminal acts:
- Assaulted a person resulting in substantial bodily harm,
- Assaulted a minor and prior history of abuse exists, or
- Assaulted a minor under the age of 4
Third-degree assault is felony offense punishable by imprisonment for up to 5 years and a fine of up to $10,000.
Fourth-Degree Assault in St. Paul, Minnesota
Pursuant to Minnesota 609.2231, an individual can be charged with an enhanced fourth-degree assault when they assault a police officer and inflict demonstrable bodily harm to the police officer, or, when the individual intentionally throws bodily matter at the officer. A fourth-degree assault of a police officer in this manner is a felony punishable by up to 3 years imprisonment and up to a $6,000 fine.
An individual can also be charged with an enhanced fourth-degree assault when they assault certain individuals that are protected under Minnesota law. Theses protected individuals include firefighters, emergency medical personnel, school officials, postal service employees, and correctional officers. An assault of these protected individuals is a felony punishable by up to 2 years imprisonment and up to a $4,000 fine.
Minnesota Resources for Felony Assault
Minnesota Judicial Branch: Domestic Abuse & Harassment – Visit this website to access resources made readily available by the Minnesota courts for victims of assault, including, Minnesota's domestic abuse laws and the procedure to seek an order of protection (OFP).
Minnesota Coalition for Battered Women – The Minnesota Coalition for Battered Women (MCBW) helps provide a voice to women throughout the state of Minnesota that have been victims of violent acts and strives to effectively respond to the needs of both battered women and children.
Attorney for Felony Assault in Apple Valley, MN
Assault allegations that give rise to a felony offense are a serious matter which could result in severely steep penalties upon conviction. To avoid this collateral damage, you need the counsel of an experienced Dakota County felony assault criminal defense attorney to fight on your behalf.
James Blumberg Law represents clients in Burnsville, Lakeville, Rosemount, Farmington, and the remainder of Dakota County, Minnesota.
Time is of the essence. Contact James Blumberg Law at (952) 431-7758 to schedule your free confidential legal consultation or submit an online contact form to have your case reviewed by our talented criminal defense attorney.