Minnesota law establishes the speed limits in the state, but they may be changed under certain conditions. The statutory speed limits are as follows:
- 65 mph or 70 mph for interstates (depending on whether they are inside or outside of an urbanized area with at least 50,000 residents)
- 65 mph for divided highways with controlled access
- 30 mph in “urban districts,” which are defined as any section of a city street or town road with structures less than 100 feet apart for a minimum distance of a quarter-mile
- 10 mph for alleys, mobile home parks, and campgrounds
- 55 mph default on other roads
The limit rises by ten mph when passing on two-lane highways posted at 55 mph or more. On interstates, a 40-mph minimum applies. Other restrictions apply to some particular vehicles.
Minnesota Speeding Lawyer
If you have been arrested for speeding in Minnesota, contact James Blumberg Law. Criminal defense attorney James Blumberg knows how to navigate the traffic ticket process, negotiate with Minnesota prosecutors, and find the just and favorable results for our clients.
Call (952) 431-7758 to schedule a free consultation with James Blumberg Law today. James Blumberg Law accepts clients throughout the state of Minnesota including Burnsville, Apple Valley, Eagan, Lakeville, Rosemount, Farmington, Inver Grove Heights and West St. Paul.
- Adjusted Speed Limit Zones
- Workers Present
- Penalties For Speeding
- Extreme Speeding
- Enhanced Penalties
- Options After Getting A Speeding Ticket
- Additional Resources
The Minnesota Department of Transportation (MnDOT) has the power to create zones with different speed limits than those mandated by law. Zones can be established following an engineering and traffic investigation by MnDOT that examines elements like the roadway’s design and characteristics, the traffic volume, the crash history, and the observed speeds. MnDOT’s policy is that the limit should typically be set close to the 85th percentile of vehicle speeds while considering other factors (that is, the speed at or below which 85 percent of vehicles travel).
Although there are a few exceptions, when at least one lane of traffic is restricted, and employees are present, an existing speed restriction of 50 mph or higher is reduced to 45 mph.
MnDOT and municipal road authorities can lower the limits when workers are present without conducting an engineering or traffic study, but the significance of the reduction is limited by the current limit.
In most cases, speeding is a minor infraction with a minimum punishment that typically varies from $40 to $150 and no mandatory jail time or license suspensions.
A violation in a work zone carries a $300 fine. If the infraction happens (1) in a school zone, (2) at speeds of 20 mph or more over the posted limit, or (3) when passing a parked emergency vehicle with flashing lights, the punishment is quadrupled.
A misdemeanor can be filed against someone who speeds in a way that puts people or property in danger. A $75 court surcharge for speeding convictions is added to the standard fine, and there may also be a fee for the law library.
For drivers who go over 100 mph, harsher penalties apply.
If a driver is convicted of speeding at 100 mph, they risk losing their driving privileges, paying a much larger fine, damage to their driving record, and auto insurance rate hikes.
State law has a particular subdivision specifically for extreme speeding. A person found guilty of speeding over 100 mph faces a higher fine (more than $350) and has their license suspended for six months immediately. One of the harshest consequences a driver can receive from a traffic ticket is the loss of their license.
To renew insurance contracts, insurance firms frequently analyze driving records. When they discover a penalty for “excessive speed” on a driver’s record, they frequently raise the premiums.
Although the fine for extreme speeding is high, the offense is still a minor misdemeanor offense classified as a moving violation – not a crime. If the driving behavior endangers other people or property, prosecutors can try to charge the driver with reckless or careless driving.
A speeding offense is upgraded to a misdemeanor from a minor infraction if:
- The motorist has two prior traffic convictions within the previous year, or
- The speeding infraction endangered people or property.
A misdemeanor conviction carries a potential $1,000 fine and a maximum prison sentence of 90 days. Driving recklessly and carelessly might result in misdemeanor charges as well. On-public-way racing is considered a form of reckless driving.
Minnesota doesn’t utilize a point system, but drivers can still face a license suspension for receiving multiple violations.
Drivers who are issued a speeding ticket in Minnesota have three options:
- Pay the ticket
- Contest the ticket and request a hearing on their behalf
- Hire a criminal defense attorney to represent them in court
Paying a traffic ticket is an admission of guilt; as a result, the infraction is recorded and could impact the driver’s ability to maintain their license.
If the driver believes the ticket was issued in error, they have the right to request a hearing. During the hearing, the driver can enter a not-guilty plea and a subsequent court appearance before a judge. The court can dismiss a speeding ticket depending on the circumstances and evidence.
Minnesota Department of Transportation – Visit the official website for the Minnesota Department of Transportation which provides information about speed limits, including how they’re set, safety tips, studies on speeding, and contacts for driver questions.
Minnesota Legislature – Visit the official website for the Minnesota Legislature which is a source for the most current state legislation. 169.14 covers speed limits, zones, and radar.
Office of Traffic Safety – Visit the official website for the Office of Traffic Safety which provides information regarding excessive speeding and all related laws.
Apple Valley Speeding Attorney | Dakota County, MN
If you or someone you know has been arrested for speeding in Apple Valley, Minnesota, reach out to defense lawyer James Blumberg at James Blumberg Law. He will put his years of experience to work for you and can provide you with quality legal representation.
To receive a free consultation, call (952) 431-7758. James Blumberg Law accepts speeding cases in Rice County, Steele County, Scott County, Sibley County, Dodge County, Olmsted County, and Carver County.