Heroin Charges

Twin Cities Area Heroin Lawyer

Heroin is one of several opiates that is a highly controlled substance. It is classified as a Schedule I substance in Minnesota, meaning the drug has a high tendency for abuse and dependency with no recognized or accepted medical use. The drug often is referred to by various street names, including smack, H, horse, black, and tar.

The substance is illegal throughout the state and country, so even possession of it could lead to criminal charges. Generally, charges involving heroin include possession and the sale, both of which could be felony offenses. Minnesota has harsh drug laws, and those accused of heroin crimes could face extensive penalties.

Apple Valley Heroin Charges Attorney

Criminal charges involving heroin can have a serious impact on your future. If you have been charged with the sale of heroin or the possession of heroin, contact Apple Valley heroin crime defense lawyer James Blumberg.

As a former prosecutor, he understands what it takes to build a strong defense against even the toughest prosecution. James is dedicated to working with his clients to get the best possible results in their cases, and he can help you protect your freedom.

Call (952) 431-7758 to schedule a free consultation today. James Blumberg Law represents clients throughout Dakota County, including Burnsville, Eagan, Hastings, Inver Grove Heights, Lakeville, Mendota Heights and Rosemount, as well as anywhere in the Twin Cities region, including Hennepin County, Ramsey County and Anoka County.

Information About Minnesota Heroin Charges

Back to top

Possession of Heroin

Possession of heroin could be either actual, meaning it is on the person, or constructive, which means it is located in a place in that person’s control. The severity of the charge and the corresponding penalties likely would be determined by the amount allegedly in possession.

For instance, possession of up to three grams would be a fifth-degree felony, punishable by not more than five years in prison, up to $10,000 in fines or both. Possession of three to six grams would be a third-degree felony. This could mean up to 20 years in prison, up to $250,000 in fines or both.

Possession of any amount between six and 25 grams could be a second-degree felony. This offense could carry up to 25 years in prison, a fine up to $500,000 or both.  Possession of more than 10 grams would a first-degree felony, with up to 30 years in prison, up to $1 million in fines or both.  

Back to top

Sale of Heroin

Similar to possession, charges for selling heroin are largely based on the amount of the drug involved. However, the crime could me more severe if the drug was sold to a minor. In some instances, this could mean up to 25 years in prison, a $500,000 fine or both.

Generally, the sale of between three and 10 grams of heroin would be a second-degree felony, punishable by up to 25 years in prison, a $250,000 fine or both, according to Minnesota Statute 152.022. A subsequent offense could mean a minimum of three years in prison and up to 40 years.

Selling more than 10 grams of heroin could be a first-degree felony, which could include up to 30 years in prison, up to $1 million in fines or both. If this is a subsequent offense, a person could face a minimum of four years in prison and up to 40 years total, according to Minnesota Statute 152.021.

Back to top

Importing Heroin Across State Borders

A person could be charged with importing heroin across state borders if he or she is transporting 25 grams or more of the substance into the state, according to Minnesota Statute 152.0261. This is a felony offense, punishable by up to 35 years in prison, a fine of up to $1.25 million or both.

Additionally, a person could face the same penalties if he or she conspires with or employs a person under age 18 to cross a state or international border into Minnesota while in possession of heroin. Whether or not a person could be charged with this would depend on the amount of heroin in question.

Back to top

Additional Penalties Associated with Heroin Crimes

In addition to prison sentences and expensive fines, the state can impose other penalties when a person is convicted of a drug-related offense. If a person is accused of selling heroin and the court determines he or she used a motor vehicle to do so, the offender’s license could be revoked without the possibility of a hearing.

According to Minnesota Statute 152.0271, a person could lose his or her license for 30 days. If the person does not have a license or if the person’s license is suspended or revoked at the time of the conviction, the issuance or reinstatement of the person’s driver’s license will be delayed for 30 days after the person applies for the issuance or reinstatement of the license. 

Back to top

James Blumberg Law – A Heroin Defense Lawyer in Dakota County

If you have been charged with a heroin-related offense, contact Dakota County heroin defense attorney James Blumberg. James can use his extensive experience to help you understand the charges you face and work with you to get a favorable outcome in your case. Your future and reputation are important. Call (952) 431-7758 to schedule a free consultation.