Unlawful Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages

A common charge among minors in Minnesota is known as Unlawful Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages. The crime occurs if a person is not legally allowed to consume alcohol yet does so unlawfully. Unfortunately, the State takes these charges very seriously and a conviction can result in devastating consequences that could impact your life for years. Unlawfully consuming alcoholic beverages in Minnesota could yield time behind bars, expensive fines, and a suspended license if the offense was DWI.

Minnesota law states that is illegal for a minor to possess or consume alcohol. The statutes also discuss that driving while impaired (DWI) is prohibited regardless of a person’s age. Unlawfully consuming alcohol can affect an individual’s life for years to come if charges are not reduced or dismissed. In situations like these, a criminal defense attorney is essential to ensure the best outcome for your future. Contact James Blumberg Law to discuss your case today.

Unlawful Consumption of Alcohol Attorney in Minnesota | Apple Valley

If you have been charged with unlawful consumption of alcohol in the state of Minnesota, seek out legal representation. Alcohol offenses carry serious charges such as hefty fines and jail time. An aggressive Apple Valley criminal defense lawyer can defend you against your charges and work to get them reduced, if not dismissed.

James Blumberg at James Blumberg Law has offices in Minnesota but he also serves clients in Hennepin County, Dodge County, Carver County, and Dakota County. Call (952) 431-7758 to obtain a free and confidential consultation. Mr. Blumberg is prepared to answer all of your questions and craft an effective defense strategy.

Back to top

Information Center

Back to top

Unlawful Consumption of Alcohol by a Minor in Minnesota

Minnesota law prohibits the consumption and possession of alcohol by individuals under the age of 21. Under Minnesota Statutes 340A.503, the term “consume” is defined as the ingestion of an alcoholic beverage. Violating this regulation is a misdemeanor offense which is punishable by up to 90 days in jail and up to $1,000 in fines ($100 of it being mandatory).

Minnesota does provide a narrow exception to the minor consumption law in certain situations. Individuals under the age of 21 may consume alcohol in their own home with their parents or guardians’ permission. This exception is an affirmative defense, meaning that the minor must prove their innocence by a preponderance of evidence (e.g., the alcohol was consumed inside of parents’ property and under their consent).

Back to top

Purchasing Alcohol for Minors in Minnesota

According to Minnesota Statutes 340A.503, it’s prohibited for any person to sell, barter, furnish, or give alcoholic beverages to a minor that is under 21 years of age. It is also unlawful for a person to do any of the following:

  • Under the age of 21 years to purchase alcohol unless he or she is under the supervision of a responsible person over the age of 21 for training, education, or research purposes.
  • To induce a minor under 21 years of age to purchase any alcoholic beverage, or to lend the minor their driver’s license, permit, Minnesota identification card, or other form of identification so they are able to purchase an alcoholic beverage.

Furnishing alcohol to a minor is classified as a gross misdemeanor under Minnesota law. Penalties for this offense can include up to one year in jail and a $3,000 fine. If you have been arrested for purchasing alcohol for a minor, it is imperative to obtain an experienced Minnesota criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. Given the statutory penalties for this offense, this is not a case to be taken lightly.

Back to top

Additional Resources for Unlawful Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages

Minnesota Statues: Driving While Impaired – Visit the official website for the Minnesota Legislature. Section 169A.20 constitutes the driving while impaired statute. Access the site to read penalties for the offense and definitions for terms associated with the charge.

Minnesota Statutes: Unlawful Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages –  Visit the official website for the Minnesota Legislature. Section 340A.503 discusses the unlawful consumption of alcoholic beverage offense. Access the webpage to learn how the state penalizes the crime.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: Alcohol Use – Visit the official website for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). The webpage discusses preventing alcohol use. Access the page to read about dietary guidelines for alcohol and an enhanced enforcement of laws prohibiting sales to minors.

Minnesota Department of Public Safety – Click the link to visit the Minnesota Department of Public Safety. The page discusses underage drinking facts and consequences of providing alcohol to minors. Access the website to view distracted driving laws, impaired driving laws, and teen driver laws.

Back to top

Unlawful Consumption of Alcohol Attorney in Minnesota | Hennepin County

If you or someone you know has been arrested for unlawfully consuming alcohol in the state of Minnesota, it’s important to obtain a skilled defense attorney that can utilize his valuable practices for your defense. James Blumberg is an experienced criminal defense lawyer at James Blumberg Law that can utilize his extensive skills and resources to obtain the best outcome possible for your case.

James Blumberg Law has an office in Apple Valley, Minnesota. The criminal defense law firm also represents individuals in surrounding areas including the Twin Cities region such as Hennepin County, Ramsey County and Anoka County. Call (952) 431-7758 today to secure an initial consultation free of charge.

Back to top